We use cookies to provide you with a better service. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies as described in our Privacy Policy

Decline Continue


Middle East Crisis: Five Arab countries cut diplomatic ties with Qatar

middle_eastAccording to several news reports Saudi Arabia, Egypt, the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, and Yemen have cut diplomatic ties with Qatar due to its’ alleged support of terrorism in the Gulf region.

This means that the borders between these regions and Qatar will be closed and that all land, sea and air traffic with Qatar is prohibited. Furthermore Qatar citizens may be requested to leave the Gulf states.

Abu Dhabi-based Ethiad Airways have said that it would suspend flights to and from Qatar on Tuesday.

Some reports are saying that Bahrain, Saudi Arabia and the UAE have given Qatari nationals two weeks to leave, and are banning their own citizens from travelling to Qatar. Allegedly, diplomats have only 48 hours to leave.  

The details on how this ban will be implemented and the effect it is going to have are still unfolding, although prices of oil have already risen as a result.
To see how you can keep on top of changes to environmental regulations in the Middle East and around the world, sign up now for a 30-day free trial of C2P, our compliance knowledge management platform!